Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
About Belgium

State Department Publications on Belgium

Information about Belgian Life, Politics, and Culture


  • Belgium is linguistically divided into three language groups (Dutch, French and German).

    French-speakers [ca 40%] inhabit the Walloon region in the South

    Dutch-speakers [ca 60%] inhabit the region of Flanders

    German-speakers [< 1%] are to be found in the region around Eupen along the border with Germany

    Brussels is legally bilingual [Dutch and French].