Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Fulbright Commission

The Commission for Educational Exchange (CEE/ABL)

Executive Director: Ms. Erica Lutes

The Commission for Educational Exchange between the United States of America, Belgium and Luxembourg, located in Brussels, administers the Fulbright Program for citizens of Belgium and Luxembourg for academic projects in the U.S. and for U.S. citizens seeking educational opportunities in Belgium or Luxembourg.

The Brussels Fulbright Commission also administers a small Fulbright exchange  program in European Union affairs. Under this program, which is co-financed by the Directorate-General for Education and Culture of the European Commission, American professors and advanced graduate students come to the Member States of the EU for study or research on EU topics. At the same time, academics, professionals and policy makers from the EU go to the United States for research on US-EU affairs or for lecturing about the European Union at American colleges and universities.

The Commission for Educational Exchange offers approximately 50 scholarships for study, teaching, and research in the United States for citizens of Belgium/Luxembourg and for EU nationals resident in Belgium and Luxembourg.  The Commission also awards approximately 20 grants to U.S. citizens for study, teaching, or research in Belgium or Luxembourg. 

Special scholarships are available for study in business, law, pure sciences and journalism. Candidates for the Commission’s grants for the United States must be of Belgian nationality and hold a post-secondary degree with outstanding academic results.  EU nationals resident in Belgiummay also apply. Candidates for the commission’s grants for Belgium must be citizens of the U.S. and may not be resident in Belgium at the time of application. As of Spring 2010, citizens of Luxembourg should address any inquiries to:

In addition to the Commission's grants, information concerning other sources of funding is available at the Center.

More information:

Fulbright Commission